FINAL REGULATIONS

18 VAC 60-20-10 et seq.
Regulations Gover ning the Practice of Dentistry and Dental Hygiene

PART II.
LICENSURE RENEWAL AND FEES.

18 VAC 60-20-20. Licenserenewal and reinstatement.

A. Renewad fees. Every person holding an active or inactive licensg or a teacherslicense, full-time

faculty licensa-eratemperarypermit to practice dentistry or dental hygiene shall, on or before

March 31, renew hislicense. Every person holding a teacher’s license or a temporary permit to

practice dentistry or denta hygiene shal, on or before June 30, renew hislicense.

1. Thefeefor renewa of an active license or permit shal be $100 for dentists and $40 for dental

hygienigts.

2. The fee for renewd of an inactive license shdl be $65 for dentists and $25 for dental

hygienigts.

B. Pendty fees. Any person who does not return the completed form and fee by Mareh-31 the

deadline required in subsection A of this section shal be required to pay an additiona pendty fee

of $50 for dentists and $35 for dental hygienists. The board shdl renew a license if the renewd



form, renewa fee, and pendty fee are received by-thefellowing-Aprit-30 within 30 days of the

deadline

C. Reingtatement fees and procedures. The license of any person who does not return the

completed renewa form and fees by-Aprit-30 within 30 days of the deadline required in

subsection A of this section shdl autometicadly expire and become invaid and his practice of

dentistry/dentd hygiene shdl beillegd. Upon such expiration, the board shdl immediately notify

the affected person of the expiration and the reinstatement procedures.

1. Any person whose license has expired who wishes to reingtate such license shal submit to the
board a reinstatement gpplication, the renewd fee and the pendty fee of $50 for dentists and
$35 for dental hygienists per month for each month or part of a month the license has been

expired for a maximum amount of $600 for dentists and $420 for dental hygienists.

2. Practicing in Virginia with an expired license may subject the licensee to disciplinary action

and additiond fines by the board.

3. The executive director shdl reingtate such expired license provided that the applicant can
demonstrate continuing competence, that no grounds exist pursuant to 8§ 54.1-2706 of the
Code of Virginiaand 18 VAC 60-20-170 to deny said reinstatement, and that the applicant

has paid al unpaid renewa fees and assessments.

D. Reingatement of a license previoudy revoked or indefinitely suspended. Any person whose

license has been revoked shall submit to the board for its approva areinstatement application and



fee of $750 for dentists and $500 for dental hygienists. Any person whose license has been
indefinitely suspenad shall submit to the board fa' its approva a reinstatement application and

fee of $350 for dentists and $250 for dental hygienists.

| certify that thisregulation isfull, true, and correctly dated.

MarciaJ. Miller
Executive Director
VirginiaBoard of Dentistry

Date:




